Be Content with what You Have

Recently I’ve been thinking about moving from my beautiful home and town to somewhere with grassy fields so the kids have somewhere safe to play. I am disappointed that my town got rid of the neighborhood grassy areas because the schools couldn’t afford to maintain their lawns. I am tired of having to drive 10 miles to find a field large enough to play soccer with my family. Will we be happy if we move somewhere that we can play soccer?

We are tired of our salt water pool giving us problems and breaking down. Will we be happy if we converted to a chlorinated pool?

Will any of our purchases give us contentment eternally?

Hebrews 13:5
Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,
“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Be content with what you have

What do I have? Jesus. I need to remember to stop chasing things in this life that can disappear in a blink of an eye; and instead pursue the Kingdom of God.

Jesus is omnipresent, savior of my soul and the world. It’s a matter of letting Jesus be enough and being content in Him. There is a payoff for being faithful — it’s eternal contentment — it’s filling my cup with Him.

Practical steps to contentment

Listen to my pain and my desires for wanting more. Talk to God about those pains. Seek first the kingdom of God instead of a purchase or whatever other quick fix that won’t fulfill eternally (such as satisfaction from a job).

Here’s a list of practical ideas that Pastor Dave reminded me of:
1) Have times throughout the day designated to pray because I get caught up in what I do. Have it build into my alerts on my phone.
2) Have reminders with scripture verses. It can be on my devices as alerts, emails, and screen-savers.
3) Send emails or text messages to let people know I am praying for them. Plug that into my phone as reminders to pray. Have someone different on different days of the week throughout the month.

20130519-105149.jpg

Creative Commons License: Some rights reserved by flattop341

What practical ideas work for you to seek first the Kingdom of God?

How do you fill your cup with contentment that Jesus provides?

One thought on “Be Content with what You Have

Add yours

  1. Tracy,
    Your applications are so dead on! One thing I’ve found to help with practicing scripture is using the app “Remember Me” through iTunes. I’d recommend checking it out.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

