Life’s choices

Everyday I’m faced with choices. How do I make the right choices? It’s about living like Jesus. It boils down to character and accepting Christ’s grace. So, when I’m faced with daily choices of what to think about and how to respond, I must focus on Christ by basing decisions on having humility, patience, honesty, and integrity.

Original image licensed under creative commons by thewoodenshoes

Think about King David for a moment, when he sinned, people were hurt, but he worked on it. With King Solomon and Saul, the lack of building character allowed sin to grow. One bad decision caused mass destruction. However, healing takes place when grace is allowed to mend the wounds, by letting go of the pain. David didn’t allow sin to take over. Working on character, integrity, and morality is a lifelong quest.

Bottom line, to stop being so angry will require work. We all struggle, we all have weaknesses, vulnerabilities, and brokenness. I must be honest with myself, be transparent, and work on it. I must ask for help and accept His grace.

Humility It’s not where you are, but what you are that matters.

Better to be lowly in spirit along with the oppressed than to share plunder with the proud. Proverbs 16:19

PatienceIt’s not what you do, but what you are that matters.

Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city. Proverbs 16:32

HonestyIt’s not what you have, but what you are that matters.

Better the poor whose walk is blameless than the rich whose ways are perverse. Proverbs 28:6

IntegrityIt’ what you say that helps portray what you are.

Better the poor whose walk is blameless than a fool whose lips are perverse. Proverbs 19:1

What’s inside my heart will eventually manifest itself on the outside through my character. Therefore, I need to fill my heart with Christ’s grace and righteousness.

And be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith. – Philippians 3:9

I make mistakes. Oh boy do I make mistakes, and the effects are pain for myself and others. I can own those mistakes, and work on changing from the inside out. That process starts with honesty of what’s in my heart and honesty about what needs to change. I then need to allow Christ’s grace to heal me.

How do you make the right choices?

How do you right a wrong choice?

Most of this post was written as my notes during Pastor Dave’s sermon. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

