Learn, Grow, Transform

What does it mean to let the word of Christ dwell within us?

We are supposed to be learners, continuously growing. Our growth should not be the reflection of society’s values, but rather Christ’s values and truths. Those values and truths are reflected in our actions and inactions. Those values are reflected in how we spend our time.

Behaviors affect beliefs/attitudes, and eventually it permeates the culture of what’s regarded as truth. As I put a magnifying glass up, I have evidence of what I actually believe are truths, and compare that to what I know are actual truths. I pray that society doesn’t blind me to the truth, and instead to actively choose the nourishment of God’s word.

Hebrews ch 5
Warning Against Falling Away

11 We have much to say about this, but it is hard to make it clear to you because you no longer try to understand. 12 In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! 13 Anyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is not acquainted with the teaching about righteousness. 14 But solid food is for the mature, who by constant use have trained themselves to distinguish good from evil.

Our growth should be nourished by God’s word, giving us opportunities to use our spiritual gifts. This is active learning and growing, renewing us, thereby impacting culture.

If the culture is impacted, there is a transformation and change. 1 Tim 4 reminds me that following Him, learning with Him, and growing with Him is an active choice that transforms culture.

1 Tim 4
15 Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. 16 Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.

This causes me to pause and ask myself if I am actively putting in the effort to learn and grow in Him, and sadly, I know that I fall short in this. I know I need to plan time to pursue the word of Christ so He dwells within, affecting my daily choices, attitudes, and behaviors.

Final thoughts

As I reflect on learning, growing, and transforming, I ask these questions:

What does the word of Christ dwelling within us look/sound like in the church family?

What does the word of Christ dwelling within us look/sound like in me?

What does the word of Christ dwelling within us look/sound like in my family?

Do my kids know what the living word looks/sounds like? Are their lives surrounded and infused in this?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

