Trusting and Listening

Spending time together and listening will build your relationship and your trust. This is the key for all relationships.

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 9.16.28 PM

This past week, I spent several hours discussing coaching with teachers. In particular, we focused on building trust. It starts with building relationships by caring, being genuine, adding to their lives, and having integrity.

To build trust, it always comes back to listening and building those relationships. Being available to listen is necessary, as well as planning formal times to meet. That’s part of building relationships.

In my job, I read, study, prepare, connect, share, learn, try, and reflect. It’s the same for other parts of my life too–my marriage, my parenting, as well as my faith.

I pause to ask myself, how often do I stop to listen to Him? How often do I listen to his righteous and living word?

Everyday He wants me to listen to Him, and spend time with Him. Everyday He wants my heart and mind to connect with His.

His truth can affect me daily with my choices. It’ll affect how I treat others, it’ll affect the decisions I make, it’ll affect the joy I have in all I do.

Trusting

I can’t control what goes on around me, but I trust He is in control.

I trust that we are created in His image. And in His image, we are meant to love Him with all we are, and we’re supposed to love one another. We hurt when we lose a loved one because we are meant to be together forever, because we are made in His eternal image.

When I pause to observe the world around me, I see Him in nature, and I see him in science. I truly believe science is proof of His existence. We were planned, created, and set on earth to fulfill a purpose.

I trust that the Creator of the world loves me, and chose to die in my place.

10And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

11 Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. 12 But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God, 13 and since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool. 14 For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy. — Hebrews 10:10-14

My choice

Right now, Jesus is kicking back on the throne because He did everything He needed to do to save me (Hebrews 10:12). Now, he’s sitting down, and it’s my move. I can choose to take what He offers me at every moment, or I can choose to reject it. It’s my choice.

Making the choices He desires for me boils down to trusting Him, listening to Him, and spending time with Him.

How do you build your relationship with Christ? with others?

How do trusting and listening impact your daily decisions?

How else do you connect with this post?

Much of this post was written while I sat in church, engaging in the sermon by Dave Abbatacola. This post is what I absorbed, and I write how it speaks to me.

2 thoughts on “Trusting and Listening

Add yours

  1. I connect with Christ in many ways; like many I find him in quiet prayer. I also connect with Christ in visions and dreams. Most frequently it is listening to the still small voice I long to hear.
    The past few years my life has changed a lot and I have learned to say He is in control. Once when I was trusting for God’s plan, but stumbling with doubt, my pastor, Mike Harding, reminded me that, ” I am a thermostat, not a thermometer. Which means I don’t just react to what is going on around me, but I change it to the best possible situation.
    My life is going through some more changes and I find myself led to ask myself how do I love others, even the ones who make it hard. How am showing love to the child who is constantly misbehaving, to the co-worker who bothers me,to the annoying person in line at the store, to the hurting person at church? In each and every situation I need to show the love of Jesus. I trust Christ in me to give me the wisdom to do that. Thank you for your grace, God. Thank you for using me and trusting me to love.

    1. Thanks so much for commenting. It sounds like you’ve been listening for the answers to your prayers for clarity on the path you’ll take. I’ll join you in that prayer.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

